A Letter from Dawn, on Mother’s Day

Dawn head shot

I realize that you have been on the receiving end of a lot of

criticism from me so on this day; I wanted to say, Happy

Mother’s Day Mother.  I wish to say thank you for the gift

of life you gave me 37 years ago.  I thank you for deciding

to go it alone instead of having the wrong man in my life.  I

thank you for your perseverance in raising me with no

financial help from said man; I know how difficult it was

for you.  I thank you for keeping me safe as possible despite

the obstacles we faced.  I thank you for teaching me

manners and what it means to be a woman of integrity.  I

thank you for always complimenting me on my views and

ideas and most (well, a lot) of the choices I have made in my

life.  I thank you for helping to build my self confidence and

for always saying you love me no matter what.  I thank

you for making sure I had a relationship with

my father’s family.

I want to say thank you for always telling me what a good

mother I am.

I want to say thank you most of all for acknowledging my

feelings and understanding why I have them and for

realizing that words have power.

I want you to know how much you matter and

that I love you

Your Daughter

Dawn

2 thoughts on “A Letter from Dawn, on Mother’s Day

Leave a Reply

